REMS Foundation: Heroes

Brand Story

It’s easy to call them heroes. But it’s harder to support them.


Filmed on location in the City and County of Grande Prairie, AB, Canada.

The Regional EMS Foundation contacted Chris Beauchamp about a video project to showcase what the foundation does in an emotionally powerful way. After consulting with the foundation’s executive director, he wrote a script and began what would become an almost five month process of producing this short film.

Special thanks are due to Mark Brazier for his tireless work on the custom music, Patrick O’Connor for his commitment to help throughout much of the shoot (and much of the final post-production), and of course to Laura Beauchamp for her continued support and the many hats she wears (from stills photographer to camera assistant, to assistant director).

We also want to especially thank Shauna and Dennis, our two paramedic leads, for sharing a window into their world.



Released: 2017
Runtime: 3:22
Platforms: Online, Direct


Written & Directed by Chris Beauchamp
Paramedics Shauna Allison & Dennis Walker
Original Music by Mark Brazier
Produced by Chris & Laura Beauchamp,
Produced by Amanda Frayn

Bezanson Motor Vehicle Collision Storyline

Male Driver Lyndon Wroebel
Female Driver Amy Retzlaff
Kids Sierra LaValley, Gabriel Retzlaff
First Responders Laura, Tanner, Harold, Robyn, Mike, Jordan, Blake, Janet, Connie and Kurt, of the Bezanson Volunteer Fire Department & Medical Co-Response

Nitehawk Adventure Park Storyline

Father Andrew Walker
Daughter Sarah Kam
Friend Tristan Sorenson
Ski Hill Onlookers Ines Gerber, Karli Gordon, Glenn Sorenson
Ski Patrol Loretta Demeule, Garry Roth
Snowmobile Driver Johnathan Clarkson

911 Emergency Dispatchers Holly Biggs, Kelsey Pientsch, Kathleen Wild
MSTU Paramedic Instructors Shelley Davis, Chris Read

Special Thanks

Alberta Health Services, Bezanson Volunteer Fire Department, City of Grande Prairie, County of Grande Prairie, Grande Prairie Ski Patrol, MD of Greenview, Nitehawk Adventure Park

Film Crew

Assistant Director Laura Beauchamp
Key Grip / Sound Recordist Patrick O’Connor
Nitehawk Grip Crew Kyler Hart Moore, Glen Sorenson, Wade Whibley
Nitehawk Drone Footage William Vavrek
Narration Assistance Scott Maitland
Editing Consultant Gordie Haakstad
Post-production Consultant Patrick O’Connor